East Gippsland Libraries receive book funding
0 comment

East Gippsland Libraries receive book funding

Member for Gippsland East, Tim Bull, and East Gippsland Shire Mayor, Cr Mark Reeves, receive their new library cards from Narrelle Fox at the opening of the new Mallacoota Library.

East Gippsland Shire Council will receive $9,374 to add new books to its collection in the lead up to next year’s Premiers’ Reading Challenge.

Announcing the funding, in his role as Minister for Local Government, Member for Gippsland East, Tim Bull, said the popular annual Premiers’ Reading Challenge encouraged more children to read, to read more often and to read more widely.

“The 2014-15 allocation of $1 million from the Premiers’ Reading Challenge Book Fund provides a wonderful boost to library stocks, for the benefit of Victoria’s young readers,” Mr Bull said.

“This is part of the Victorian Coalition Government’s commitment to improving literacy skills for our younger Victorians.

“Readers already have rich pickings – from Asimov, Bronte, Dickens, D H Lawrence, Dr Seuss, Roald Dahl, Graeme Base and J K Rowling to name just a few of the authors to challenge and delight children of all ages.  And there’ll be even more to come thanks to this latest allocation from the Premiers’ Reading Challenge Book Fund,” Mr Bull said.

Mr Bull said Victoria has a world class public library network and the Victorian Coalition Government is intent on improving library services and facilities across the state.

“We have some great library facilities in East Gippsland, including the new Bairnsdale Library and the new Mallacoota Library I opened last week.

“The four-year $4.5 million Premiers’ Reading Challenge Book Fund complements this government’s $17.2 million Living Libraries Infrastructure Fund, and the $38.6 million Public Libraries Funding Program – providing record funding the state’s library network,” Mr Bull said.

Victoria’s ever-popular Premiers’ Reading Challenge is supported by former Premiers Ted Baillieu, Steve Bracks, John Brumby, John Cain, Jeff Kennett and Joan Kirner.